Kannauj is one of the newly created districts of Uttar Pradesh with headquarters at Kannauj town. The district was carved out of the erstwhile Farrukhabad district on September 18, 1997. It forms a part of Kanpur division.

The district is bounded by the districts of Farrukhabad to the north, Hardoi to the northeast, Kanpur Nagar to the east, Kanpur Dehat to the southeast, Auraiya to the south, Etawah to the southwest, and Mainpuri to the west.


Archeology Museum, Lakh Bahosi Bird Sanctuary, Gauri Shankar Temple - Kannauj City, Annapurna Temple - Tirwa, Kannauj.

To reach this place two ways of transport is available from Kanpur & Delhi. Train and Roadways Buses are avialble regularly. From Kanpur it  80 km away.

  • RAIL

Kanpur-Kannauj-Farrukhabad Click Here    

Farrukhabad-Kannauj-Kanpur Click Here    

Train running status Click Here    

  • ROAD

On National Highways 24 (GT Road Delhi-Kannauj-Kolkatta) Kanpur is 80 km from Kannauj.

To find Buses Time table Click Here